Standard Charted Kuala Lumpur Marathon Countdown

Motivational Quotes


Join Us on Facebook

Join Us on Twitter


Congratulations to all winners and finishers of the Standard Chartered KL Marathon 2014!

Sunday, 12 October saw over 30,000 runners and supporters from the novice to the elite runners converging at Dataran Merdeka. A hearty Congratulations to each and every one of you and we hope that lots of personal bests were set and personal goals were achieved!

Special congratulations to our Champions, Kennedy Kiproo Lilan, the overall Champion of the Standard Chartered KL Marathon who finished in an impressive time of 2’17:47 and Mugo Hellen Wanjiku emerged the ladies’ champion with a finishing time of 2’42:22. Both Lilan and Wanjiku are from Kenya. This is the fourth straight win for Kennedy at the Standard Chartered KL Marathon and a first for Wanjiku. It was also the first time Wanjiku participated in the Standard Chartered KL Marathon.

Our fellow Malaysians did not disappoint. Muhaizar Mohamad walked away the champion of the Malaysian Men’s category with an impressive time of 2’41:11 while Loh Chooi Fern emerged the winner of the Malaysian Women’s category with a finishing time of 3’25:52. Both are first time winners of the Standard Chartered KL Marathon. We most definitely have not seen the last of those two!

I’m sure a lot of you, as were we, were watching out for our esteemed Minister of Youth and Sports, Y. B. En. Khairy Jamaluddin to cross the finish line. Citing a finishing time of 60 minutes in the MSIG 10km category as his target, Y.B. En. Khairy proved to be a man of his word and crossed the finish line with an impressive time of 59:36. Tahniah, Y. B!

To our title sponsor, Standard Chartered Bank Malaysia, our gold sponsors, MSIG Insurance and Honda Malaysia, partners and vendors, a hearty thank you for your support and confidence. To our co-organiser, DBKL and all the other agencies, KL Traffic Police, MAF and FTKLAA that came together to make this event possible, thank you for your assistance and guidance.

To our volunteers, you guys ROCK! This event would not have been possible with all 1,300 of you on Race Day.

Last but not least, to our runners – THANK YOU!

Thank you for your loyalty, support, commitment, perseverance and patience!

See you in 2015!